“Songpyeon” II Half-moon shape rice cake-white version

완성1

September 27th was Chuseok(추석), Korea’s Thanksgiving Day.  Two years ago I introduced how to make Songpyeon, half-moon shape rice cake, which we eat on Chuseok as a tradition. My preference is to make dough with rice powder and mugwort, but my mom failed to buy mugwort which grows in spring. So we made pure white version of Songpyeon with crushed chestnut as a filling.

송편빚기

이쁜송편Does it look cute? I love this shape. I practiced many years from my childhood and I think mine looks better than my mom’s now. haha

완성2

완성4Which color do you like? white or green? ^^

8 Comments

  1. Hey Jessie what a lovely surprise! where have you been? or is it me who disappeared from the radar? I’m glad to see you after a long absence. Those rice cakes look very beautiful. I think I can swallow them without chewing. They look like white candy. Thanks for sharing and enjoy the rest of the week.

  2. 어머님이 송편을 이렇게 예쁘게 빚으셔서 너같이 멋진 딸을 낳으셨나 보다! ^^ 송편이 진짜 예쁘다~

Leave a comment