Ojjingeo-chae Muchim(Spicy dried Squid)

진미채

Korean people love dried squid. Ojjingeo-chae(오징어채) is shredded dried squid that is processed with seasoning.  We enjoy it as a snack when we drink or as a side dish for our daily meals. Ojjingeo-chae Muchim(오징어채 무침) is a favorite side dish which is a little spicy and sweet. I remember that Ojjingeo-chae Muchim was always in our refrigerator and the most frequently served side dish for our lunch box.

조리과정

Ingredients: Ojjingeo-chae (one pack, 300g), soy sauce(3 spoons), red pepper powder(2 spoons), sugar(1 1/2 spoons or grain syrup), mayonnaise(1 spoon), sesame seed oil, ground sesame seed

  1. Cut the Ojjingeo-chae into 4-5 cm with a scissor.
  2. Add soy sauce, red pepper powder, sugar, and mayonnaise to the Ojjingeo-chae in a bowl.
  3. Mix them with your hands hard until sugar dissolves.
  4. Drop two spoons of sesame seed oil and mix them again.
  5. Sprinkle ground sesame seed onto the surface.

It becomes mature after one or two days in the refrigerator.

2 Comments

  1. I am always a bit ambivalent about this one! I love the taste but not the texture, I feel like I keep on chewing and chewing and chewing…. Or at least that is the case with the one I buy ready made at the Korean supermarket. Maybe I should try to make it myself now you shared the recipe!

    1. Thank you for your message. ^^ I guess the ready made one was not good. I strongly recommend to try it by yourself. I bet you will love the texture. ^^

Leave a Reply

