“Ssuk Beomuri tteok” Rice cake with mugwort

완성2April 6th is the 1st anniversary of my blog, Mommyson. When I uploaded the first posting a year ago, I was so surprised to see the first comment from one of my blog pal. By now, people from more than 90 countries visited my blog and I communicate with my dear blog pals. Even though we live so far away from each other, I feel that we’re so close connected with our common interests. I would like to thank all the visitors.

완성6In Korea, we serve tteok, rice cake when we celebrate a special birthday such as a baby’s first birthday, at a wedding ceremony or on a special occasion. On all occasions, we share tteok with our neighbors or friends.

My mom and I decided to make tteok for our first blog anniversary and our choice among varieties of tteok is ‘Ssuk Beomuri(쑥버무리).’  ‘Ssuk(쑥)’ is mugwort which heralds the spring and ‘Beomuri(버무리)’ means ‘mixing’. It is a rice cake made of glutinous rice powder mixed with mugwort and beans.

재료[Ingredients]

Rice(맵쌀), mugwort(쑥), black beans(서리태콩), peas(완두콩), salt(소금), sugar(설탕)

[Preparation]

1. Leave the rice in cold water for 6~7 hours and drain the water.

2. Grind the rice adding some salt and make rice powder at a mill.

3. Wash the mugwort thoroughly and trim them.

4. Wash the black beans and peas and add some salt.

버무리25. It’s time to mix all the ingredients and add sugar. This is why we call this tteok, Ssuk Beomuri

 

시루완성This is a ‘siru(시루),’ earthenware steamer, which we used to use to make tteok, rice cake. There is a modern steamer, but we’re going to make tteok in an old style today.

찜준비1. Block the holes of the steamer with the sliced radish.

2. Wrap it with the cotton fabric.

3. Put the mixed ingredients in the steamer.

찜4. Heat the water in the pot for a few minutes and put the steamer on it.

5. Fill up a gap between the pot and the steamer with the flour dough.

6. Cover the steamer with a lid and steam it for 25 minutes over mid heat.

7. Turn off the heat and leave it for about 20 minutes.

완성7

 

완성4

 

완성3My mom and I celebrated our first blog anniversary together cutting the rice cake. I would like to share it with you.^^

 

14 Comments

  1. I have just been reading the procedure for making this unique rice cake. Is it very sweet? I wonder what it tastes like. is it eaten warm or cold? thanks for sharing!

    1. It’s not so sweet as western cakes. It is eaten warm or cold and it tastes good in either way. We often freeze and steam it again right before we eat. I loooooove rice cake and there are various kinds in Korea.

      1. Oh I think the cake must taste very good. You describe your love for it with a passion. One day, maybe, ! shall taste it. You live in Korea?

      2. Of course, I live in Korea. ^^ I’ve never lived abroad so far even though I have traveled around many countries including yours. As I mentioned, if you visit Korea someday, I’ll let you taste what you’ve just seen in my blog. ^^

  2. I am so happy to see the Korean tteok, especially seolgi tteok kind, made very authentically. This is a great recipe to enjoy savory herbs in a sweet dessert form. Is the person making all the recipes your mother?

    1. ^^ Thank you so much for your comment. I enjoy your blog, too. My mom makes most of recipes and my job is to take photos and record how to cook. But I made some recipes for which I make better taste than my mom does.^^ I can make most of her recipes, but still she excels in taste. I have to practice more.

  3. Hi Jessie – I apologize that it took me a while to come over and wish you a very happy anniversary! I really enjoy your blog…I learn so much from you and I wish you continued bloggy success. Love that you made this unusual rice cake to celebrate, it looks so cool. And thanks for introducing me to a siru too.
    LL

    1. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving your kind comments. It’s my great pleasure to visit yours and get inspiration. As a Korean, I would like to thank you for introducing Korean foods to many foreign people and recreate them in a wonderful way.

Leave a Reply

