MOMMYSON is…..

엄마손

This is my mom’s hand(‘Son‘). ‘MOMMYSON’ is not about mommy and her son(^^), ‘Son [soun]’ is a ‘hand’ in Korean, so MOMMYSON literally means Mommy’s hand and my blog ‘MOMMYSON‘ is about foods made by my mom’s hands. I believe the taste of foods is in cooks’ hands and, luckily enough, my three siblings and I have enjoyed delicious Korean foods made by my mom’s hands. There are two main reasons to begin this blog. I’m going to learn and record my mom’s cooking know-hows and share her secret recipies with people who are interested in Korean homemade foods.

I’ve always wanted to start this, but the problem is that I cannot record the exact amount of ingredients. Whenever I ask my mom how much I have to put this or that in foods, her answer is very simple, “appropriately or to your taste.” ^^ So I used to be frustrated to make a record, but now I realize that she is right because her hands and tongue are real measuring instruments. People who are not familiar with Korean foods may find it a little difficult to cook at first, but I will try my best to help you enjoy Korean foods at your own table.

엄마얼굴

This is my mom’s face that she made herself. One of her hobbies is to make pottery and she’s been doing for more than 15 years. My parents’ house is full of her works. ^^ Foods will be displayed in the ceramic plates of her own made. I love serving my friends with foods that I learn from my mom and displaying them in her plates. I hope you like them as well.

Lastly, let me introduce myself. My name is Hyun-jung, but my friends just call me ‘Jessie’, which is my nickname. I’m working as a researcher in the area of international trade. I live in Seoul, Korea and haven’t lived abroad so far, but I like travelling and communicating with people with different cultural background.

I truely hope that you enjoy MOMMYSON as much as I do.

15 comments

  1. Hi Jessie, happy to have stumbled upon your blog. I like reading and knowing about people, their culture, food patterns and cooking methods. I now can know about Korean food culture and cooking and backgrounds. I am following you to read more and explore Korean dishes 🙂 Regards, Aiswarya.

    • Thank you very much for visiting and following my blog. I like communicating with people around the world like you. I am so glad to hear that you learn about Korean foods.

  2. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog, I also get frustrated when I ask my mom how to make something and she says, “use your eyes and mouth.” I’m actually enjoying some jee-po right now as I read your jee-po post! Thanks so much and keep posting!!

    • Welcome to my blog! Thank you so much for your comment. Making dishes one by one, I also rely more on my mouth and eyes rather than measurement. If measurement is everything, anyone could be a good cook, right? ^^

  3. Olga D

    I’m really enjoying your blog! I hope you will continue to add recipes. Your mom is a woman of many talents and so I suspect you are too!

  4. Liz

    Lovely piece of art. Thanks for sharing!!!

  5. J : )

    why don’t you post some pictures of you and mommy on cooking ? : )

  6. I should definitely bookmark this.. very useful reference for beginners like myself. Belated congrats!!

  7. Hello Jessie,
    Your blog is very touching and meaningful, which reminds me of my mom too

  8. Jisang

    very impressive!! U finally made it!! Chuca Chuca:)

  9. Yeonjoo

    Every mom’s recipie is so special…….will look forward to more postings, Jessie!!

  10. Seungwon

    Mom, missing you so much~~~

Leave a Reply

